Archive

Archive for June 22, 2012

Lobster Rolls

June 22, 2012 4 comments
Lobster Roll

Lobster Roll

“Hello again, its been too long…..”

I don’t have a ton of followers so maybe nobody noticed I was gone.  However, for those that do follow, my wife and I just got back from a short, much needed vacation.  We spent 4 days in Virginia.  2.5 days on a working cattle farm in the mountains near George Washington National Forest and 1.5 days touring vineyards on the wine trails outside of Charlottesville.  2 trips in one…but each enjoyable in their own way.

Old Barn

An old barn on the 300 acre farm

During our stay in the mountains we rode bikes, drove a golf cart around the 300 acre farm, swam, lounged, read, and watched plenty of wildlife (newly born deer, cows, a black bear cub — sans mama, and 2 highly entertaining hummingbirds to name a few).

Humminbird

We were fascinated by the hummingbirds.

We also drank a few beers and cocktails.

Red Stag by Jim Beam

Red Stag Wild Cherry (Jim Beam) and Coke = Spiked Cherry Coke!

And of course we ate!

The farm was extremely relaxing but it was fairly remote.  Therefore I had to do all of the shopping before we left. I had to plan breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the days on the farm.  While I enjoy cooking, I didn’t want to spend my entire vacation slaving over a stove.  I chose meals that I could grill, were quick, and didn’t require a lot of prep work.  With list in hand I headed to the grocery store where I picked up steak, a few pork chops to make basil garlic grilled pork chops, and a pork tenderloin for grilled pork tacos.  I picked up hot dogs and hamburgers too.

But while shopping a big sign caught my attention.  “LOBSTERFEST!”  All whole lobsters were on sale.  $6.99 or $8.99 each depending on if you bought them live or steamed.

How could I pass up this bargain?  Answer was, I couldn’t.  I searched the cooler and found 2 of the biggest ones I could find.  They were all the same price so I might as well get the most meat I could.    Without question lobster rolls would be what I would make with my impromptu purchase.  The rolls were a delectable option for a lunch while sitting poolside even if I had to endure the snide comment of my wife who said “you know, most people don’t make lobster rolls on vacation.”  To which I replied, “its good right?”  She just smiled that beautiful smile.

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Simple!

  • 2 Whole Maine Lobsters, Steamed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of mayonnaise
  • Kosher Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Lemon Wedges
  • Hot Dog Rolls (top split if you can find them)

Gently crack open each lobster, keeping as much of the meat whole as possible.

Keep the pieces as intact as possible

I did a decent job keeping it intact

Chop the lobster in to large size pieces and add to a large mixing bowl.

Step 2

Chop in to large, but bite size pieces

Add mayonaise and a little salt and pepper and gently fold the ingredients to incorporate, trying not to break the lobster.

Step 4

The goal is to taste the lobster, not the mayo…so just a little bit of mayo is all that’s needed to bind.

Fill rolls with lobster (I added a few pieces of iceberg for texture) and top with a fresh squeeze of lemon juice.

Basic Maine Lobster Roll

Nothing to it —- but oh so good!