Home > Breakfast, Snacks > Granola

Granola

February 9, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments
Granola

Granola

It’s snowing again as I write this and I though maybe I would write about the weather (again) but I think at this point, if you’re in the states, especially the Midwest, you get it.  So lets just move on.

************************************************************************************************

I love granola.  Problem is that store bought granola is often loaded with calories.  Even if you buy the healthy versions they typically cost a small fortune.

So I scoured the world wide web to see if I could find a good recipe that would be both economical and waist line friendly. The results were overwhelming.

So what does any experimental cook do?  I experimented by taking bits and pieces from a few recipes I researched.

The first batch I tried was too sweet.  The second was too sticky.  The third was not sweet enough. Finally, after some tweaking I ultimately settled  on the one below and just like Goldilocks, this one was just right.

While the upfront cost is probably more than a box of store bought granola, I was able to make 4 or 5 batches for under $10.  Most of all, I controlled the ingredients making it as healthy as I possibly could.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Rolled Oats (such as Bob’s Red Mill) (do not use quick cooking oats)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped nuts (use any kind – pecans, almonds etc)
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flakes (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons honey (wildflower if possible but any good quality honey will do)
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup (no Mrs. Butterworth)
  • 1 teaspoon of canola oil
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup of dried fruit, chopped (I use blend of cranberries, cherries, blueberries)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients (except fruit), mix well.
  3. Add in all wet ingredients and gently stir to combine.
  4. Pour contents of bowl on to a rimmed sheet pan lined with parchment paper (or silicon baking mat)
  5. Bake 15 minutes.
  6. Stir gently with a spatula and bake additional 15 minutes until lightly golden brown.
  7. Remove from oven and sprinkle the dried fruit on the cooked oats.
  8. Cool completely and transfer to an airtight container.
  9. Serve with Greek Yogurt and Berries, or milk, or just snack right from the jar.

The best part is you can add anything you want to the granola. Be adventurous.

Granola with Greek Yogurt and Berries

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment