Home > Sandwiches > Roast Beef and Kielbasa Sandwich with horseradish cheese sauce

Roast Beef and Kielbasa Sandwich with horseradish cheese sauce

January 20, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
Roast Beef and Kielbasa Sandiwich w/ horseradish cheese sauce

Roast Beef and Kielbasa Sandiwich w/ horseradish cheese sauce

The best part about food blogging is the interaction I have with other bloggers. We follow each others tweets, we’re friends on Facebook, and we connect through our blogs.  Mainly, at least in my opinion, we’re each others inspiration.

I cannot begin to tell you how many of the family dinners I’ve made over the past few years that have started by me reading a blog. I have bookmarks upon bookmarks of recipes I want to try.  Clearly I’ll never get to all of them, but I’m going to try.

In the midst of wading through the hundreds of recipes, there are probably 20 or so that have risen to the top.

The first recipe from my elite group of bookmarks is for a sandwich called “Beef and ‘Basa.”  It comes from Adam Holland who runs a blog titled “The Unorthodox Epicure – Confessions of an aspiring food snob.”  Adam doesn’t mess around with the recipes from his “Food Snob Chronicles.”  They’re good, creative ideas and best of all, most are easy to follow.  Perfect for a home cook.  Take a few minutes to check him out and if you like what you see, give him a follow.

Like any recipe I find, I try to tweak it to my liking, but this one looked as though it required no tweaking at all.  However, since I wanted to make it somewhat healthy, I traded out regular mayo for Olive Oil mayo and used turkey kielbasa.  I may have negated the fat count that I saved by upping the amount of cheese.  Also, since I really like caramelized onions, I used two. The technique is pretty much exactly the same.

My wife and I really loved Adam’s sandwiches and I’m confident that you will too.  Enjoy!

Thanks Adam!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound roast beef (from the deli), sliced thin
  • 1 package of turkey kielbasa (such as Hillshire Farms) cut in to half-inch thick slices
  • 2 yellow or red onions, sliced
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of light mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon horseradish
  • 1 tablespoon stone ground mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
  • Fresh cracked black pepper
  • 2 12-inch hoagie/sub rolls (for 4 sandwiches)
  1. To caramelize the onions, add olive oil to large skillet over medium-low heat and add onions.  Stir occasionally and cook until caramelized.
  2. Meanwhile, in sauce pan over low heat, add the mayonnaise, horseradish, mustard Tabasco, pepper and cheese.  Stir to combine. Stir occasionally to melt the cheese.
  3. In another skillet, over medium high heat, cook the kielbasa 2-4 minutes on each side until nice and browned.
  4. Once the onions are caramelized and cheese sauce is ready, toast the rolls under the broiler until just slightly brown.
  5. Assemble the sandwich by first spreading the cheese sauce to both sides of the toasted roll.
  6. To one side of the roll, add a generous pinch (or 3) of onion, a large mound of roast beef,  a few slices of kielbasa and another dollop of cheese sauce.
  7. Top with second side of roll.
Don't forget to cut it in half (or maybe not)

Don’t forget to cut it in half (or maybe not)

  1. January 20, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Your sandwich looks divine. I wish I had some roast beef in the fridge about right now. 🙂

    • January 20, 2013 at 8:52 am

      Thanks. And a bigger thanks for continuing to share your witty humor and of course fantastic recipes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

