Home > Chinese > Stir-Fry

Stir-Fry

January 12, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
Stir Fry

Stir Fry

Over the holiday’s my hard-drive crashed.

If this has ever happened to you, my condolences.  Clearly you felt my pain.  If you haven’t, then let me tell you it sucks.  Its a significant gut-wrenching, heart-stopping moment.

After the initial punch-in-the-face you step back and realize you’re just an average user and you didn’t lose your 500 page “masterpiece”  that was in the final stages of refinement before shipping to your publisher.   It’s not that bad.

You probably lost some music which isn’t a true loss because you probably have it all on iTunes.

Maybe it was some some pictures of your cute puppy, which, lets be honest, have probably already been overly shared on Facebook or Instagram.  Again, easy to get back.

Even important stuff like taxes are most likely stored through your online tax service or if you’re “old school”, you have printed versions.

Yes I can get my music back, same with some recent pictures of the dogs and my tax information.  What I can’t get back are pictures that I wasn’t ready to share. Namely a few hundred unedited senior pictures I took of my step-son. It’s not the end of the world but for a parent of a kid that isn’t the most photogenic to begin with, that’s a huge loss. Things happen so we’ll try again in the spring.

There is a lesson to be learned here and that is back up files and back them up often. Ironically I do have a back-up hard drive but its only as good as the frequency in which you take advantage of it.  For me it was about every 6-8 weeks or so…which clearly isn’t enough. I also learned that “Google Drive” is now my new best friend.

By the way, I also lost a bunch of photos I had ready for the blog, which is partly to blame for my hiatus.  Also, the batteries in my “grown-up” camera are dead hence the use of my smartphone picture for today’s post.  I clearly need to step up my game.

While I throw myself a pity-party, here’s a healthy, immensely flavorful stir-fry dish for you to try.  I made this version with pork but you could substitute chicken or shrimp.  Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chicken broth (low sodium please)
  • 3 tablespoons of soy sauce (again, low sodium)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • A few grinds of fresh ground black pepper
  • 5 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 pound pork tenderloin, cut in to pieces (same size for even cooking)
  • 1 onion, slivered
  • 1 red bell pepper (or combination of red/yellow/green)
  • 2 cups bean spouts
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger, minced
  • 1/2 cup diced pineapple (optional)
  1. In a medium sized bowl combine the broth, soy sauce, honey and black pepper.  Wisk to combine ensuring all of the honey is dissolved.
  2. Transfer 2 tablespoons of the mixture to a separate bowl, stir in cornstarch until combined and set aside.
  3. Heat 1 tablespoon of canola (or olive) oil in a large skillet (or wok) over medium heat.
  4. Add pork and cook, stirring often until cooked through (about 3 minutes).  Transfer to plate.
  5. In same skillet, increase heat to medium-high and add another tablespoon of oil.
  6. Add ginger, onion, bell pepper and bean spouts and cook for about 3 minutes.
  7. Add broth mixture (not reserved cornstarch mixture) and bring to a boil, stirring for about 3 minutes.
  8. Reduce heat to medium-low and add the pork and the reserved cornstarch mixture.
  9. Cook, stirring until thick, 2-3 minutes.
  10. Add pineapple and stir to warm through.

Serve with rice or noodles — eggroll optional.

Stir Fry with Egg Roll

Stir Fry with Egg Roll

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

