Home > Comfort Food, Meats! > Beer Braised Pork Ribs

Beer Braised Pork Ribs

Beer Braised Ribs

Beer Braised Pork Ribs

Before I get today’s story and recipe, I thought I’d share that today’s entry marks my 50th.

I assume somewhere in the blog-o-sphere, this is considered a major accomplishment.  But honestly, since I don’t own the blogging handbook, I really have no idea.  Regardless if 50 is considered an accomplishment, I’m going to give myself a pat on the back because I think it’s pretty special. Maybe I should have made a cake?

As I stated on the first day I got this up and running, I mainly do this for myself.  But I have to admit, it’s pretty cool when a total stranger, half-way around the world follows me regularly. Knowing this person took time to sign up to find out what I have to share is something I really didn’t expect.

So all you regulars, THANK YOU!  I hope you continue to enjoy what I have to say, and obviously, what I’m cooking.  Hopefully I’ve even inspired a few of you try something you really didn’t think you could do.

If this is your first time stopping by, thank you as well.  Maybe you’ll like what you see enough to want to come back.

********************************************************************

Today’s recipe is Beer Braised Pork Ribs.  In my best attempt to mimic Homer J. Simpson….”Mmmmmmmm Beeeeer.”

I recently attended one of Pittsburgh’s premier events, The Big Pour.  This event, now in its 6th year, is held annually to benefit Pittsburgh’s only (I believe) non-profit building material reuse retailer, Construction Junction.

Big Pour

Big Pour

The Big Pour allows anyone who is lucky enough to get a ticket (the event sells out in minutes) an opportunity to sample several types of beers from over 40 different craft breweries, as well as local food from area restaurants.  There really are no restrictions on how much you enjoy (that is until the keg runs dry).

The Big Pour is truly a beer lover/foodie paradise and my belly left happy.  More importantly, it left me with a nice feeling knowing that I’m helping out a good cause.

So what is Construction Junction?

Let’s say you’re remodeling your bathroom.  Instead of taking that old sink to the curb where it will eventually take up space in the landfill, drop it off at Construction Junction (or arrange for a pick-up).  As as long as it is still in working condition, they’ll take it off your hands.  Not only can you drop off, but you can browse and buy.  For example, if you’re looking for an old door (or anything really) to re-purpose, stop by CJ and they might have something you need.

So next time you have something to get rid of, think twice before letting the garbage men take it.

Ah…..feels good to give back.

Ok, enough of that….here’s the Beer Braised Ribs recipe which I found in the Food Network Magazine.  I don’t deviate from the ingredients all that much (just a slight tweak in the amounts).

This recipe is one of my all-time favorites. I enjoy the “gravy” it makes and a nice roll or hunk of bread comes in handy for sopping up the juice.  The recipe is perfect for those cold fall and winter nights. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 5 or 6 bone-in country style pork ribs (think 1.5 ribs per person depending on the size)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 large onions, rough cut in to chunks
  • Kosher Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 12-ounce bottle of beer (Original recipe calls for amber ale, I used Sam Adams Pils — use anything, just nothing too hoppy)
  • 1 1/2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 6 sprigs of fresh thyme (tie if you can to remove easier when time to discard)
  • 2/3 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Season both sides of ribs with salt and sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon paprika.
  3. Heat the olive oil in a large dutch oven over medium heat.
  4. Add the ribs in batches and cook until browned, about 5 minutes per side.  Remove and set aside.
  5. Add the onions and cook until browned, about 10 minutes.
  6. Once the onions have cooked, add the remaining 1 teaspoon paprika and season with salt.
  7. Add the beer and bring to a boil (be sure to save a sip for yourself).
  8. Cook until the beer is reduced by half. (make sure to scrap the bottom of the pot with a wooden spoon to loosen the bits).
  9. Add the chicken broth, bay leaves and thyme.
  10. When the liquid begins to simmer, return the ribs to the pot and transfer to the oven.
  11. Cook, uncovered, turning the ribs half way through, about 1 hour and 15 minutes (Cooking times are approximate based on size of the ribs.)
  12. Meanwhile, mix the vinegar and honey in a measuring cup.
  13. Remove the pot from the oven and place back on the stove and bring to a simmer over medium heat.
  14. Add the vinegar/honey mixture and bring to a boil, then return the pot to the oven.
  15. Continue to braise, uncovered, until the ribs are tender, approximately 20-30 more minutes.
  16. Return the pot to the stove and transfer the ribs to a plate (tent with foil to keep warm) and discard the bay leaves and thyme.
  17. Bring the sauce to a boil over medium heat and cook until thickened, 10 to 15 minutes.
  18. Return the ribs to the pot and heat through. Serve immediately.

 

Beer Braised Ribs and Sides

Thank me later!

  1. February 17, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Pork and Beer… you’re doing it right -Tim

    • February 17, 2013 at 7:39 pm

      A great combination for sure

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

