Home > Comfort Food, Meats! > Lemon and Rosemary Chicken

Lemon and Rosemary Chicken

September 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments
Lemon Rosemary Chicken

Lemon Rosemary Chicken

Today I had a great conversation with a co-worker and good friend.  We talked about a bunch of things and he gave me some pretty solid advice.  While most of the conversation was serious, we eventually circled back to food and beer. We got on the topic of my blog which he and his wife really like.  While I mainly do it for myself, I have to admit it’s really nice to know that people not named Dennis actually read it.

During our talk, he gave me some cool compliments and asked, “How long does it take to write a blog entry?”  While I gave him the answer it did give me the idea to do a quick Q&A blog entry.

Here’s a few (and a recipe too).

Q: How long does it take to write a blog entry?
A: Typically I write most entries in less than an hour.  Actually, I write it in less time than that but I always go through a series of revisions, mainly for typos, sometimes for content, to get it to my liking, but I don’t think its ever been longer than an hour.

Q: What was my favorite blog entry to write?
A: My favorite so far is the “Basil-Garlic Rubbed Grilled Pork Chops.” I write this blog for fun, and had a lot of fun writing that story in particular.  To me, it was the essence of what I want my blog to be.  A fun, creative way to tell a story about the meal I’m preparing.  That entry had all the elements that made me want to continue writing.

Q: What was the hardest blog entry to write?
A: The LOST Supper blog was difficult.  Mainly because I felt like I was writing a restaurant review.  I didn’t want it to come off as such so I played around with a couple of different versions before I settled on the one that I ultimately published.

Q: What recipe was I most eager to share?
A: Tie between Shooter’s BBQ Sauce and Shooter’s Secret Spice Dry Rub.  Mainly because they’re tried and true and 100% all mine.  Additionally, anyone that has tried it has liked it (or they lie really well).

Q: What future recipe am I most eager to share?
A: Beer Braised Ribs.  It’s just a delicious recipe.  Good comfort food.  A hearty Fall or Winter warmer.  And most of all, easy to make (psst go buy a dutch oven).

In the meantime, here is another recipe that makes use of my dutch oven.  The original recipe which I adapted from Food Network, says to use a cast iron skillet and that will certainly work, but I don’t have one large enough to accommodate everything in this recipe so I improvised.  I also used dried rosemary instead of fresh and thighs/legs instead of bone-in breasts.  I simply think dark meat stands up better to the high heat.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 10-12 red potatoes, halved
  • 2 tablespoons dried rosemary
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 lemons
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 pieces of dark meat chicken
  • 1 lb mushrooms (button, cremeni) halved
  • Salt and Pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 450.
  2. Over medium heat, boil potatoes until just tender, about 6-8 minutes.  Drain, set aside.
  3. Mince and mash the rosemary, garlic, 2 teaspoons salt, and red pepper flakes to make a paste.
  4. Transfer the paste to a large bowl and add the juice of one lemon and olive oil.  Mix well.
  5. Add the chicken to the bowl and turn to coat both sides.
  6. Meanwhile, heat a dutch oven (or cast iron skillet) over medium-high heat.
  7. Add chicken skin side down and cook until the skin is golden brown (about 5 minutes).
  8. Flip the chicken.
  9. Add mushrooms, potatoes to the dutch oven with the chicken and drizzle with the juice from the second lemon and the squeezed halves of both lemons.
  10. Add a pinch of kosher salt and a few turns of fresh ground black pepper.
  11. Transfer the dutch oven (or skillet) to the over and cook, uncovered approximately 20-25 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the skin is nice and crisp.

 

One Pot plus One Plate

One Pot to One Plate

  1. September 20, 2012 at 8:53 am

    I am drooling. Looks so yummy.

    • September 20, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      Lemon and Rosemary is a great combination. Thanks for the comments!

  2. krw627
    September 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I read all the time! I just don’t comment much…I guess that makes me a lurker. I can’t wait to have more time to try all of your recipes! This one especially since I grew rosemary this year.

  3. October 21, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Howdy I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the great work.

    • October 21, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      Thank you for such kind words. I’m really glad you like what you see. Thanks!

  4. October 31, 2012 at 10:11 am

    This looks incredible!!! I’m going to have to print this off for my husband to review {and shortly thereafter approve!}. Thanks for sharing this!

    • November 11, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Anytime. Still waiting to see his blog. Seems like he has some mad cooking skills.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

