Home > Grilled Goodness, Pizza, Sandwiches > Grilled Pizza – Part II

Grilled Pizza – Part II

Grilled Pizza Threeway

Grilled Pizza Threeway

With grilling season winding down for a lot of people I thought I’d do a second installment of grilled pizza just to remind people that you shouldn’t be afraid to try this method.

You can find the instructions, as well as some flavor combinations in my original grilled pizza blog entry here.

Here are my 4 grilled pizza promises:

I promise, if done properly, your dough won’t fall through or stick to the grill grates.
I promise that you will have some pretty darn tasty pizza.
I promise you’ll want to experiment with the endless combinations of toppings.
I promise that you will want to have a pizza party and impress your friends.

Because for some, it will become an addiction, I cannot promise a reserved seat in grilled pizza rehab.

Since grilled pizza is somewhat my latest addiction, I thought I’d give a couple of new combinations a try.  Instead of one large pizza, I (with Darcie, my sous chef for the evening by my side) made 3 mini-pizzas (technically 4 which I’ll explain shortly).

The first one was bacon, spinach, mushrooms, and fresh ricotta.  We’ve done a similar version so what made this stand out was the ricotta.  The crust was brushed lightly with a garlic butter. Not a bad combination at all.

The second pizza had the same crust base (butter/garlic) but was topped with prosciutto, roasted tomatoes, mushrooms, and fresh mozzarella.  The salt of the prosciutto combined with the sweetness of the roasted tomatoes made this my favorite of the samples.

Finally, for the final pizza I made a Reuben pizza.   Basically, the Reuben pizza was exactly like the sandwich, only in pizza format.

Initially when the Reuben pizza came to my mind I thought it would be as simple as copying the sandwich.  However, I was afraid the Thousand Island Dressing as the base would make the pizza too soggy.  So I talked it over with the wife and she agreed but we couldn’t agree on how to improvise.  So we came up with 2 options (his and hers).

Her version had a plain crust with a very light sprinkle of Swiss to act as the glue.  Then a layer of corned-beef, sauerkraut, Swiss cheese and a drizzle of Thousand Island.

My version used a spicy brown mustard as the base.  Then corned-beef, sauerkraut, Swiss and topped with Thousand Island.

Both were very good in their own ways, especially if you like Reuben’s.  Her version was probably closer to a real Reuben while my version was more like a version you’d find in a good New York Deli.

If I did it again, I’d probably use wheat dough and sprinkle in some caraway seeds.

The Reuben Pizza experiment wasn’t perfect but it still wound up being delicious.  Here is “his” version of the Reuben Pizza.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • Basic Dough
  • Brown Mustard (enough to put a thin coat on the crust)
  • 1/2 pound corned-beef, cut in to squares (don’t skimp here — spend a little extra and get the good stuff)
  • Sauerkraut (more or less based on your preference)
  • 1 1/2 cups Swiss cheese, grated
  • Thousand Island Dressing

Follow instructions to make pizza dough and shape in to desired size.

Paint the crust a thin layer of mustard.

Top with corned beef, sauerkraut, and cheese.

When the pizza is finished, drizzle the entire pizza with the Thousand Island Dressing.

Reuben Pizza

Reuben Pizza

 

 

  1. August 20, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Have you tried to make your own ricotta yet?

    • August 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm

      Its on the list. I think the same day I do the Mozzarella

  2. August 21, 2012 at 7:44 am

    This seems like a lot of work… 🙂 I don’t have a gas grill {only charcoal}, so I’d have to try this out on my cast-iron grill skillet. Maybe smaller dough pieces?
    That roasted tomato and mozzarella one would have my vote!

    • August 21, 2012 at 7:57 am

      There are shortcuts. For example buy dough from the local bakery or pizza shop. No grill…oven works good too but will have a different flavor. And smaller versions in cast iron would be interesting but would probably work. I do a cheeseburger flat in similar fashion.

  3. August 24, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Oh wow – the prosciutto/roasted tomato one sounds AMAZING!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

