Home > Comfort Food > Mushroom and Spinach “Wellington”

Mushroom and Spinach “Wellington”

Mushroom and Spinach Wellington

Mushroom and Spinach Wellington

It’s safe to say that I love good competition, especially sports.

I hold season tickets to Pitt Basketball and Football so I can passionately cheer for my team in person.

I never pass up going to a hockey game when I get tickets and I root from the recliner when I don’t.

I love the Olympics.  No matter the sport, I cheer on the United States and still get a bit choked up when then National Anthem plays.

I yell obscenities at the refs when a bad call is made (on TV and in person).

I celebrate when my teams win…and I’m visibly upset when they don’t.

I also love cooking competitions.  Iron Chef, Food Network Star, Chopped, Throwdown, and BBQ Pitmasters are ones I watch regularly.

More recently I’ve become addicted to Masterchef.  I think its the polite side of Gordan Ramsey that sucked me in. Or maybe a blind contestant.  Either one, I’m hooked.

Then there is Hell’s Kitchen.  It’s hokey.  It’s trashy.  It’s a train-wreck.  It’s addicting!

All I have to say is that if I was ever going to be a contestant I’d certainly learn how to properly prepare Risotto and Beef Wellingtons.  It is clear those dishes are to be mastered if you’re going to run one of Ramsey’s multi-million dollar establishments.  What’s bizarre is that I rarely see either on the dinner menu of the restaurants I frequent.  Maybe I need to get out more.

While I don’t plan on auditioning for Hell’s Kitchen (or any cooking competition) any time soon, I am proud to say that I have mastered the art of Risotto.

Wellington’s?  Read on.

A Wellington, which is assumed to be named after the Duke of Wellington, is a piece of beef, most commonly filet, wrapped around a piece of puff pastry.

I know right?  Why ruin a nice filet by wrapping it in dough.  Honestly, it never sounded good to me so I never tried it.

Then I came across a recipe that was a spin-off of the Beef Wellington.  A vegetarian version.

After reading through the recipe and looking at the pictures, this made more sense.  Mushrooms, spinach and cheese wrapped up in a flaky dough, baked golden brown.  YUM!

This was so delicious that I’m already thinking up new ways to serve it.

This take on the wellington is so freaking good….oh, enough of me writing…on to the recipe.

Ingredients:

Wellington Ingredients

Wellington Ingredients

  • 4 portobello mushrooms caps
  • 3 cups crimini (or any type you prefer) mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 bag of baby spinach
  • Olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon Seasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 1 cup freshly grated Swiss Cheese
  • Pinch of Crushed Red Pepper
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 sheet of Puff Pastry dough

Heat oven to 375.

Prep portobello mushrooms caps by removing the gills with a spoon.

Lightly coat both sides of the cap with olive oil.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake for 10 minutes.

When done, remove from oven and place on paper towels to remove excess moisture. Set aside.

In a medium sized pan, heat 2 count olive oil over medium heat.

Add half of the minced garlic and saute until fragrant.  Add spinach, salt and pepper, and cook for a few minutes to wilt.  Drain liquid, set aside.

Spinach Before

Spinach Before

Spinach After

Spinach After

In the same pan, add another 2 count olive oil and remaining minced garlic.  Add crimini mushrooms, salt, pepper, and balsamic.

Cook for a few minutes until most of the moisture has been removed from the mushrooms.  Set aside to cool.

Sauted Shrooms

I love Shrooms

Once spinach and mushrooms have cooled, combine both in a bowl and mix in cheese and bread crumbs. Set aside.

Mixing it all together

Come together….

On a floured surface, roll pastry dough and cut in to 4 even squares.

Puff Pastry

Puff Pastry

Fill each portobello cap with 1/4 of the spinach and mushroom mix.

Top with one pastry dough square.  Carefully invert it.

Carefully flip

I didn’t take a picture of the filled shoom before it was flipped

Add egg wash to corners of dough and fold each corner to make sort of a puff-pastry package.

Wrap it

Wrap it

Continue this process with the remaining 3 mushroom caps.

Packaged

Puff pastry package

Place on baking sheet, brush with egg wash, top with a sprinkle of course salt and fresh cracked pepper.

Cut a few holes to allow steam to escape.

Bake 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve immediately (caution – HOT). Enjoy!

Final

One of the best things I’ve ever made

 

 

  1. August 24, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    You are answering my vegetarian prayers, D! I have a veggie friend and i NEVER know what to make as a main course! thank you 🙂

    • August 25, 2012 at 5:18 am

      I really enjoyed this dish a lot. I took an extra to a friend and he devoured it and has since made it himself. Best part – it can easily be tweaked.

  2. August 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    I cant wait to host the next girls night so I can try it out on my veggie friend. It sounds awesome and totally tweakable.

  3. December 5, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Reblogged this on Frankly…cindy and commented:
    Amazing vegetarian meal perfect for company!

  4. Linde
    December 15, 2014 at 8:46 am

    I would saute the mushrooms with a little bit of marsala till it’s absorbed! I have a nephew that can’t eat protein (he has PKU) so I’ll be making this for him (minus the cheese) and Beef Wellington for the rest of us this Christmas. Thanks for the recipe!

    • January 16, 2015 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks for stopping by. I like the improve you did. How did it turn out?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

