Home > Sandwiches > “Philly Cheesesteak”

“Philly Cheesesteak”

Philly Cheesesteak

“Philly Cheesesteak”

Being in the military, I was able to travel all over the world.  I’ve been to a few Continents and many countries.  I had my share of unique foods and met lots of interesting people.

Traveling abroad was certainly a once in a lifetime travel experience that I will cherish my entire life.

Despite being a world traveler, some of my favorite experiences, and proudest moments, happened right here in the United States.

For instance, my travels have taken me to the beautiful New England coast where the early morning fog makes way for breathtaking lush rolling green hillsides.  Off the coast, I participated in top-secret training exercises with Navy Seals.  Those guys really are bad-ass.

In Chicago, I nervously marched to the 50 yard line of Soldier Field, carrying the colors of America which I, an 18-year old kid from Pittsburgh, hoisted in front of sixty-thousand fans during the National Anthem of a Chicago Bears game, complete with a military fly-by.

I participated in New York City’s Annual Fleet week where, as a sailor aboard the USS John F. Kennedy, I stood proudly on the flight deck as we entered New York’s famous harbor.  Greeted by police and fire boats, we were the honorees.  The Statue of Liberty and at the time, the World Trade Centers there to greet me.

My duties took me to Miami.  There I had some time off and it afforded me the opportunity to take in a college football game at the famous Orange Bowl.   At the time, 2 of the most popular and elite college teams took the field.  Penn State vs. Miami.  At the height of their popularity then, very much unpopular for their off the field scandals today.

Finally, Philadelphia, visiting the hometown of a friend of mine who I met during my time aboard the JFK.  That’s the best experience of all.  Meeting people who you would otherwise never know. The people who, like me, voluenteered to fight for and represent their county.

While In Philadelphia, I was nothing more than a tourist doing what every other tourist does. Visiting the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the Rocky Statue and trying my first ever authentic Philly Cheesesteak.

I’ve made a few versions of this iconic sandwich using good quality thinly-sliced strip steak, which I get from a friend of mine who is a butcher.  However, since its not always possible to get the good stuff when the mood strikes, I pull out this recipe using strip steaks cheaper cousin, ground beef.

Nothing can live up to the authenticity of the real deal,  but in a pinch this one will satisfy the craving.

This recipe will make three 12- inch sandwiches. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef (80/20)
  • 1 onion, sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup steak sauce
  • 1/2 cup beef broth
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • Provolone cheese, sliced (approximatly 3 slices per sandwich)
  • Salt and Pepper (to taste)
  • Mayonnaise (optional)
  • 3 twelve-inch hoagie buns

Preheat broiler.

Meanwhile, over medium high heat, brown the ground beef, drain and return back to the skillet.

Add in onions, peppers, and mushrooms and cook for 4-5 minutes until soft.

Stir in steak sauce.  Cook 1 minute.

Add beef broth, salt  and pepper and bring to a boil.  Continue cooking until liquid begins to reduce, approximately 3-5 minutes.

Philly Cheesesteak Cooking

One skillet meals are the best

Meanwhile, split buns and add mayonnaise.  Add beef/onion/mushroom/pepper mixture and top with cheese.

Place sandwich on sheet pan and broil, open face, just long enough to melt cheese.  Enjoy!

Not quite the real thing

Not quite the real thing, but in a pinch..mmmmm!

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

