Home > Grilled Goodness, Sandwiches > Cuban Sandwich with Chipotle Butter

Cuban Sandwich with Chipotle Butter

Cuban Sandwich with Chipotle Butter

Cuban Sandwich with Chipotle Butter

Anyone with a food blog must love cooking, why else would we take the time to write about it.  However, there are times where I’m too busy (read lazy) to do anything elaborate.  Those days require a good old-fashioned sandwich.

Lucky for me, I happen to love sandwiches.

While I have many favorites, I’m particularly fond of pastrami on rye, classic grilled cheese, and my all-time favorite Italian subs.

Slowly moving up my list of favorites is the Cuban.

On the surface, the Cuban, traditionally made with pork, ham, and Swiss cheese seems like a fairly basic sandwich.  But when you put it all together with the pickles and mustard, it’s quite amazing.  But what really separates the Cuban from just another grilled sandwich is the crunchy texture it takes on by literally smashing it when grilling.

Personally, I don’t think a sandwich press can get it right (plus I don’t have one).  Therefore I use a couple of heavy bricks wrapped in foil.  It’s a great technique that can also be used when grilling a whole chicken (but that’s another day).

Here’s my version of the Cuban sandwich that adds just a touch of heat in the form of chipotle pepper butter.  If you don’t want the heat, feel free to use plain butter.

Ingredients: (no quantities of meat etc. listed – use as much or as little as you like)

Ingredients

Ingredients for a traditional Cuban sandwich

 

  • 2 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 chipotle  pepper in adobo sauce, minced (seeds removed – optional)
  • 1 loaf of cuban bread (I used French but you can use any similar crusty exterior bread)
  • Roasted Pork (I use leftover from any time I make a pork roast)
  • Virginia Ham
  • Swiss Cheese
  • Pickles
  • Mustard

To make the chipotle butter, mix 1 chipotle pepper with the softened butter.  Set aside.

Butter and Pepper

Butter and Pepper

Compound Butter

Compound Butter

 

Cut bread lengthwise and apply a generous amount of mustard to one side of bread.  Add ham, pork, pickles, and cheese. Top with other half of bread.

Assemble

Would be good as is…

 

Slater the top of the sandwich with half of the chipotle butter.

Slathered

…but lets throw some butter on top and grill it

 

Lay sandwich on grill or griddle (or large pan) butter side down.  Gently lay brick on top of sandwich and smash the sandwich to balance the brick.

Smash It

Homemade sandwich press

 

Grill a few minutes until cheese begins to melt.

Remove brick (careful, brick may be hot) and flip.  Slather with remaining butter and flip.

Almost Done

Almost Done

 

Once again, balance brick and grill a few more minutes until heated through.

Remove from grill and enjoy!

Final

Muy delicioso!

 

  1. July 9, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Some of my most popular recipes are the easiest. So I have no problem being a lazy blogger. hehe BTW: I LOVE Cuban sandwiches. Great recipe.

  2. Ray Cat Lady
    October 22, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    This sounds AMAZING. It’s so hard to find a good Cubano where I live so I will definitely be making this one soon!

    • October 22, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Same here. I resort to making my own when I can’t find a restaurant locally that makes it the way I want. Usually with decent results.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

