Home > Appetizers, Special Occasion > Bacon Blue Cheese Deviled Eggs

Bacon Blue Cheese Deviled Eggs

Bacon and Blue Cheese Deviled Egg

Bacon and Blue Cheese Deviled Egg

I met Josh several years ago at work and pretty much immediately knew we’d become friends.  Partly because he was a smart-ass like me and partly because he knew his stuff and was always a big help on projects I managed.  So when our team was looking to fill an open position, myself, along with some co-workers lobbied for him to fill it.  After working together for a few months I introduced him to my wife and he introduced me to his partner Chuck.  The 4 of us got along pretty well and we’ve been close ever since.

There are so many good things I can say about these two guys.  They’re kind and extremely helpful.  Also, they’re extremely passionate  with everything they’re involved in.  Pretty much nothing these guys won’t do to help out.  They’re currently in an adoption pool and if anyone deserves to be parents its these two.  I plugged their site in my last entry, but its worth posting again. Check out their amazing story here.

Like me, Josh and Chuck are enthusiastic about good food.  In addition, they are known for always throwing a good party.

So with the Independence Day Holiday smack-dab in the middle of the week and them living nearby, it was a no-brainer to accept an invite to their 4th of July party. Plus they were making Sangria (always a good reason to attend a party in my opinion).

Sangria

Just the right amount of fruitiness 😉

Our hosts informed us that they would be making the “main” dish (stuffed burgers) and everyone else was to bring whatever they wanted.

The guests brought a wide-range of delectable dishes including watermelon and tomato salad, potato salad with blue cheese, a quinoa salad, pasta salad, “fat-boy” baked beans, “boozy” watermelon, and so much more.

               

I must not forget about  desserts.  Banana cream poke cake, fresh blueberry and raspberry pie, mint-chocolate chip cupcakes, and homemade spicy vanilla ice cream (which I made and will most likely blog sometime this summer).

   

I did the ever-popular picnic staple deviled eggs.  While simple, this version, which I found courtesy of my new favorite blog – Framed Cooks, is certainly blog worthy.  The picture on her sight grabbed me right away but I chose it because it combined one of my favorite combinations: bacon and blue cheese.

The burgers and all of the sides were fantastic and my deviled eggs were a hit (even the non-deviled egg fans became fans).

My Plate

My Plate

The  desserts were decadent.

Pie and Ice Cream

A slice of heaven with a side of spicy vanilla ice cream

It was a great night that ended with patriotic music and fireworks among laughs with friends old and new.  My only regret was not taking the next day off of work.

Fireworks

We had a blast (pun intended)

Bacon and Blue Cheese Deviled Eggs

Ingredients (makes 24 deviled eggs):

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 8 strips of bacon
  • 3/4 cup of mayonaise
  • 5 ounces blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard

Cook bacon to desired crispness, drain fat.

Crumble all of the bacon except one piece (to use as garnish), set aside.

Meanwhile, place the eggs in a large pot and cover with cold water.  Bring the water to a boil and boil 2 minutes.  Place lid on pot and remove from heat.  Cook, with heat off, approximately  10-12 minutes until eggs are done.

When cooked, place eggs in an ice bath to stop the cooking process.

Peel each egg, cut in half lengthwise, and gently remove the yolk from the white.  Place the yolk in a bowl.  Place white of egg on serving platter.

In the bowl with the yolks, add mayonaise and mustard.  Smash with a fork to incorporate the ingredients.

Fold in crumbled bacon and blue cheese.

Mixed and ready to pipe

Mixed and ready to pipe

Using a piping bag (or 2 spoons) divide mixture evenly among the egg whites.

Pipe in the mixture

Piping bag makes it look pretty

Add a piece of bacon to garnish.  Keep chilled until ready to serve.  Enjoy!

Ready to serve

Ready to serve

  1. August 25, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    I made deviled eggs for the first time ever (wow!!) last summer I dont have a pastry bag. I discovered that you can use a regular baggie or Ziploc with a corner snipped to easily get the mixture into the egg whites.

    • August 25, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      Definitely personal preference but for me it is easier and healthier

    • August 25, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      I tried the ziploc method but I’m an idiot and it didn’t work well.

      • August 28, 2012 at 9:42 am

        hahahaahahhaahahahahahahaha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

