Home > Grilled Goodness, Meats! > Shooter’s Secret Spice Dry Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

Shooter’s Secret Spice Dry Rubbed Barbecue Chicken

Spiced Rubbed Chicken

I have a confession.  I love barbecue.  In my opinion, there is nothing better than the aroma of burning charcoal or smoke from wood chips.  While gas grilling  is my choice for convenience, there is something incredibly tasty about cooking something over a hot bed of coals that can’t be beat.  Honestly, if I didn’t have other mouths to feed, I could easily eat barbecue 4, maybe 5 times a week and never get tired of it.  While I certainly hope my last meal is years away, I do wish that the last meal I ever eat is barbecue (followed closely by Bojangles Chicken Biscuit Sandwich).

All of the best barbecue cookers have secrets.  And most will tell you its all about the rub.  I am no exception. Experts spend years perfecting their award winning spice rubs which they keep locked among their most treasured possessions.  While I do believe the rub is the secret to a good piece of barbecue, I have no reason to keep it a secret. Plus, I’m not an expert. I may regret giving out this secret if I decide to hit the national championship of barbecue tour, but for now  I’m just some random guy with a passion for cooking and I’m here to share with anyone who cares.

By the way, I don’t object to sauce on my barbecue, and future blog entries will show that.  But if you cook a juicy piece of meat with the right rub and you can eat it as is and it will be extremely tasty.  This is probably the reason there is a debate among barbecue experts on wet (sauced) versus dry (rub only).  This particular recipe is designed showcase dry rub.

The rub is versatile.  I use it on pork, brisket, as well as this chicken recipe.  The recipe below will make a large batch that, if stored in an air tight container, in a cool dry place, could last about 3 months.  It typically never makes it that long in my house.  Enjoy, but shhhhh…it’s a secret.

Ingredients:

Spice Rub Ingredients

Spice Rub Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons  cumin
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper (use less or more depending on how spicy you like it)
  • pinch of crushed red pepper

Add all ingredients to a container with a tight fitting lid.  Shake to combine.

To make the chicken, rinse and pat dry completely.

Sprinkle Shooter’s Secret Dry Spice Rub on both sides of chicken and rub.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge for 1-2 hours  (or overnight if you like).

Rubbed Chicken

Rubbed Chicken

Grill chicken until cooked through.  When done, sprinkle with a light dusting of more rub.

I actually prepared this version by using the indirect cooking method.

To do this, place all charcoal to one side of grill.  Generously rub your grill grate with canola oil.  Place chicken directly over coals and cook for 4-5 minutes on each side.  Then transfer chicken to the other side of the grill and cook for 30-40 minutes or until juices run clear.  This method gets the skin nice and crispy while locking in the juice.  Moving it to the cooler side of the grill allows the chicken to finish cooking without burning the outside.

Shooters Spice Rubbed Chicken with a side of potato salad and corn on the cob

Shooters Spice Dry Rubbed Chicken with a side of potato salad and corn on the cob

  1. May 21, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Looks awesome! I am a “wet” fan as I feel it’s juicier that way, but I’ve been looking to try a good dry rub to test it out. Thanks!

    • May 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      Best part of any rub is you can improvise. If there is something you don’t like, substitute accordingly.

  2. October 13, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I am trying this for my pulled pork that i am roasting in the oven all day tomorrow………i cant wait!

    • October 13, 2012 at 10:18 pm

      Rub it…rub it real good! Let me know how it goes.

      • lmullane
        October 14, 2012 at 10:36 am

        i rubbed it and poured it everywhere all over my pork shoulder last night. i let it sit with the pork in a bag all night in the fridge. it’s in the oven right now for the initial bake……then it will sit for the rest of the day wrapped tight roasting in the oven. house is starting to smell good 🙂

      • dskrzycki
        October 14, 2012 at 10:41 am

        Mmmmmm

      • October 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

        okay it was AWESOME!!!!!!!! I’ll be featuring it at some point in my blog and will link to your recipe 🙂

      • October 17, 2012 at 6:53 pm

        Glad you liked. It’s extremely versatile to use on chicken, pork, brisket…indoors and out.

  1. June 25, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

