Home > Dessert > Salted Caramel Milkshake

Salted Caramel Milkshake

Salted Caramel Milkshake

Salted Caramel Milkshake

Back in January I started a diet.  Not just a New Year’s resolution diet, but a life altering one.  I was determined to lose 50 pounds (initially) and keep it off.  In order to do so I would be forced to change my eating habits.  I knew I didn’t want some fad diet, but rather I would keep eating the things I loved, just less of them.  Portion control became key for me. In addition to portion control, I chose more sensible snacks.  Instead of a candy bar or cookie, I’d reach for an apple or an orange.

However, no matter how sensible my food choices are, I cannot give up my love of  ice cream.  Its my dieting achilles heal.  My house could be stocked with more sweets treats than Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory but if it doesn’t have ice cream, its not complete.  Lucky for me, I have the will power, so when I eat it, its not nearly as often as it once was.

A few weeks ago, I hit the 40 pound lost mark — so I’m inching closer to my goal.  As a reward for my dieting hard work, my wife whipped up a delicious salted caramel milkshake.

This recipe will make 3-4 milkshakes.

Ingredients:

Milkshake Ingredients

Milkshake Ingredients

  • 16 individual caramels, unwrapped
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 gallon vanilla ice cream
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of milk

Over double boiler or in microwave, slowly melt caramels until smooth.  Add sea salt and mix.

Melted Caramel

Melted Caramel

In a blender, add ice cream, vanilla extract and milk.  Blend until smooth.

Ice Cream and Vanilla Extract

Ice Cream and Vanilla Extract

Add 3/4 of the melted caramel and blend to incorporate.

Meanwhile, take a spoonful of the remaining caramel and add to the bottom of your serving glass, coating the sides of the glass in the process.

Add blended milkshake to caramel coated glass.  Top with whipped cream, a drizzle of caramel, a cherry and a pinch of sea salt. Serve immediately.

Yum

Yum

  1. Orsolya
    September 11, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    You are awesome that you can treat yourself! I am UNDER weight and torture myself by never treating myself. I, however, live vacariously through my boyfriend so I will have to “force” him to drink this! Sounds delicious!

    • September 13, 2012 at 10:29 am

      I’m sure it will be torture for him to try it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

