Home > Grilled Goodness > Bacon Jam Burger

Bacon Jam Burger

Bacon Jam Burger

Bacon Jam Burger

Bacon Jam you say?  Read on my friends.

Food trucks seem to be all the rage these days.  More and more are popping up in cities across American.  Unfortunately Pittsburgh seems to be behind the times when it comes to food trucks.  We have a few that pop up around town and more seem to be catching on.  However, because of some stupid ordnance it makes it very difficult to get one started here, at least in the traditional mobile food truck way. If you’re interested, there is a great article about it here.  The Frankutary truck mentioned in the article is actually pretty good.  I recently found out that Pittsburgh Taco Truck is on the way soon.  I’ll be sure to give them a try once the truck gets rolling.

Anyway, I’m actually very jealous of the cities that have multiple trucks to choose from.  My friends in Philly and DC talk about their experiences and I live vicariously though them.  When they’re not telling stories, I simply droll while watching the various shows that explore the topic.

One night while watching one of those shows I came across a truck that specializes in a burger topped with what they called “Bacon Jam”.  Its basically spreadable bacon.  Now that my friends is GENIUS!  By the way, if you happen to be in the Seattle area, the truck is the Skillet Street Food truck.  Stop by and support your local business.  (And let me know how it tastes)

The burger looked and sounded so delicious that I immediately wanted to hop a flight to Seattle to taste one myself.  I quickly put the notion out of my head that I wasn’t tasting one of my own anytime soon.  That was of course until one day I was perusing our local Sur La Table kitchen store and spied a tiny jar of Skillet Bacon Spread, aka Bacon Jam.  Apparently the geniuses from the Skillet Food Truck decided to market their creation.  Because of them and their crafty team of merchandise marketers, I could now make one myself.  Of course I would have to first plunk down the $9.95 for 10.5 ounces.  Don’t have a Sur La Table, the Skillet Street Food website has a list of areas near you that sell it, or for a few bucks more, buy it directly from their site.

Bacon Jam

Bacon Jam

The jam is tasty and has a very nice smoky flavor which I love.  It makes for a great alternative to your traditional bacon topped burger.

This is what it looks like - sort of a soft beef jerky

This is what it looks like – sort of resembles caramelized onions?

Here is my take on the Skillet Street Food truck Bacon Jam Burger.

Ingredients:

Bacon Jam Burger Ingredients

Bacon Jam Burger Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of Skillet Bacon Spread (Bacon Jam)
  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  Form in to patties of the desired size and thickness.  Grill over direct heat 4-5 minutes on one side (or until juices begin to form on the top of the burger – or they ‘sweat’). Flip and cook 2-3 minutes.  Adjust accordingly based on size of burger and desired level of doneness.

Top with cheese of your choice (I chose Swiss).  Once the burger is cooked and cheese melted remove from heat.  Add a small smear of bacon jam.  Let rest a few minutes to warm the ‘jam’.  Add desired toppings before devouring!

Bacon Jam & Swiss Burger on a Pretzel Bun

Bacon Jam & Swiss Burger on a Pretzel Bun

  1. May 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I love the idea of this bacon jam. It’s got me wondering if I can get this here in Melbourne. I will have to go online and find out. Food stores here are awesome and you can pretty much find the most unusual food items. These food trucks you mention have sprung up everywhere around Melbourne and I have ‘liked’ their facebook pages so I can keep track of when they get anywhere near me. There is a burger one and a gumbo one. I have yet to check them out as they never get close enough to where I live. Many years ago, I mentioned that I would love to start up a mobile food van and I was discouraged by all the food regulations…now they are everywhere!!!

    • May 16, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Food Trucks seem to be all the range in the states, I just wish we had more options in my city.

      Good luck on your quest to find Bacon Jam (without having to pay a lot to have it shipped)

  2. rundesnettes
    May 21, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    I follow the truck religiously. Now they have a second truck and a diner, and they’re working on a place at the Seattle Center Food Court. Can’t have enough Skillets!

    Don’t miss trying the new flavor: Black Pepper-Fennel Bacon Jam. YUM!

    • May 21, 2012 at 7:52 pm

      I’m not sure I did the truck’s signature justice, but it worked for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

