Home > Comfort Food, Pasta > Pasta Carbonara

Pasta Carbonara

Pasta Carbonara

Pasta Carbonara

I love pasta.  Who doesn’t?  Linguinie, fettuccine , rigatoni, ziti, and just about any other kind you can think of is okay by me.   While I love a good red sauce, sometimes I want to break out of the norm.    Carbonara is a nice choice when you’re feeling Italian but don’t want your mother’s hand me down sauce recipe to top it.  Plus, it has bacon!

I mentioned that my mom was a great Italian cook, but interestingly she never once (or at least I can’t recall) made this dish.  Considering how tasty, easy and authentically Italian it is, I’m actually quite surprised.  Then again maybe I shouldn’t be surprised considering I only recently made this for the first time.  Regardless, my family loved it, I loved it, and hopefully you’ll give it a try and you too will love it.  Did I mention it has bacon?

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

1 pound spaghetti noodles
1/4 pound slab of Pancetta (Italian Bacon) – cut in to cubes or small dice (you can use regular thick cut bacon)
1-2 cloves garlic, minced (or more depending on taste – not pictured)
3 eggs (beaten)
1/2 cup grated parmigiana-reggiano cheese (or Pecorino or Parmesan — just please don’t use the green can)

Cook spaghetti noodles (don’t drain)

Meanwhile, in a saucepan, begin to cook the diced pancetta, when browned, stir in garlic.  When pasta is cooked, remove directly from the water (using tongs or a pasta spoon) and add directly to the pan of pancetta.  (Don’t dump the pasta and all of the water)

Add in 1 or 2 ladles of pasta water, stir to combine.

Add 3 eggs and cheese, stir with tongs for 1-2 minutes.  The heat from the pasta and pancetta mixture will cook the eggs, but will not scramble them.

Serve with a sprinkle of cheese.

This is one of those recipes where it is okay to add a little more (or less) without detracting any significant flavor.  Jazz it up to your liking.

Enjoy!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

