Home > Grilled Goodness, Meats! > Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Pork Tenderloin

Pork Tenderloin

Some guys like cars.  Washing, waxing, buffing and shining their vehicles to keep them in pristine condition (I hate washing the car but I do run it to Mr. Magic a few times a year)

Some guys like their entertainment systems.  Booming bass coming from their perfectly harmonized 6 speaker sound system tied in to their 60 inch wall mounted LCD. (I’m fairly certain I don’t need to hear Iron Chef in surround sound — hmmm, then again)

Me? I like grills.  I have my Weber Genesis gas grill. 40,000 btu’s of intense heat ready to conveniently cook most anything in 20 minutes or less.  My Weber Kettle charcoal grill provides maximum surface space large enough to hold enough meat  to feed the hungriest picnic crowd.  And the baby portable WeberQ, with  just enough space to feed the tailgate crew “breakfast.”  Oh yeah!

My newest addition

My newest addition

I cook as often as I can on my grill.  Spring, summer, fall, and winter.  I cook the basics like burgers and dogs and of course chicken and steak.  I’ll also do some things that involve a little more skill such as grilled pizza.  There will be many grill recipes as I continue the blog.

Because of its versatility, pork tenderloin sees a lot of grill action at my house.  Therefore I’m kicking off the grilling category with it.  Also, since my friend Laura recently started a blog, and she shared her go to pork tenderloin recipe (which is great), I figure I’d return the favor and share mine.  By the way, you can read Laura’s stories and recipes here.

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

Pork Tenderloin (I buy the pack bulk pack from costco – usually 2 smaller tenderloins in each pack. Enough for dinner and leftovers)
Zest of 1 Lime
1/2 cup of lime juice
1/4 cup of honey
1 teaspoon of kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
1 chiplote pepper (in adobe sauce)

Whisk together the lime zest, lime juice, honey, salt, and garlic powder.  Pour half of marinade in a zip top bag.  Cover and refrigerate the remaining half.

Add to the zip top bag 1 chipolte pepper.  Squish (technical cooking term) the marinade together to ensure all ingredients are well blended.

Place pork in to the bag, seal it, making sure as much air is out of the bag.

Zipped up, locked tight

Zipped up, locked tight

Place the bag (in a bowl in case of leaks) in the fridge for 4-8 hours.  Any longer and you risk that the acid from the lime will begin to cook the pork.

Approximately 30 minutes before grilling, remove the pork and the extra marinade from the fridge.

When grill is heated to 450 or so, grill the pork until the medium, about 7 or 8 minutes each side or internal temp is about 140 degrees.

Pork on the Grill

Pork on the Grill

Once cooked, remove from heat and place in heavy duty foil — use the foil to make a basket. Pour the marinade you had in the fridge (not the stuff the raw pork was marinating in) over the pork and crimp the edges tightly.  Let rest approximately 10 minutes.

Slice and serve!

.

  1. May 11, 2012 at 11:06 am

    That looks AWESOME!!!! You’ve tried my pork, now I shall try yours! Thanks for the shoutout 🙂

  2. May 11, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Anytime Laura. Keep up the great work…and hopefully I can keep up mine

  1. June 30, 2012 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

