Home > Dressings, Condiments and Sauces > Easy Balsamic Vinaigrette

Easy Balsamic Vinaigrette

A slice of grilled pizza and side salad with homemade balsamic

A slice of grilled pizza and side salad with homemade balsamic

On Saturday’s, our local PBS would air 2 or 3 hours of cooking shows.  I’d sit and watch but never understood why.  Certainly I didn’t think I could make the types of meals that someone like Julia Child would whip up.  While I didn’t think it was possible to cook like those I watched, it did begin my love affair with watching cooking shows on TV.

Considering the first 10-12 years of my life I had 3 television channels (4 if the antenna worked perfect and there were no clouds in the sky), its hard to believe that now, not only do I have one but I have TWO channels dedicated to nothing but cooking and food (3 if you count some of shows on the Travel Channel).  And it’s no secret, I’m addicted to these channels.  Don’t believe me, ask my wife.  I watch shows related to cooking more often than I watch the 300+ channels that I currently overpay for combined (and this includes sports — yes, sports).  Bobby Flay, Alton Brown, Tyler Florence, Giadia de Laurentis, Ina Garton, just to name a few, have taught me so much over the years that I feel like I should have paid them for cooking lessons.

One thing I learned while watching these shows is that sometimes making something taste so good can be unbelievably easy.  In addition, making things homemade are generally healthier and can save so much money.   This is easily the case with this balsamic vinaigrette.  Its made from simple ingredients that most people have in their pantry right now.  Best part, it can be whipped up in as quickly as you can chop a clove or two of garlic.  Knowing this, it’s a wonder why I haven’t been doing this my whole life.

This recipe was adapted from the original Food Network star, Emeril Lagasse.

Ingredients:

Balsamic Ingredients

Balsamic Ingredients

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
3/4 cup olive oil
2 teaspoons brown sugar (original recipe calls for this to be optional and dark brown sugar, but I prefer light brown sugar and I do NOT make this optional)
1-2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Place all of the ingredients in a mason (or any jar) with a tight fitting lid.  Shake the heck out of it.  Drizzle on your favorite salad.

All ingredients in the jar before you shake it

All ingredients before you shake

Before

After you shake it

Done. Enjoy

Done. Enjoy

You can easily double or even triple this recipe.  It will keep in the fridge for 3-5 days.  Just make sure its covered tightly and you shake it before the next use.

Sorry, this blog entry does not come with a side of grilled pizza,  but a future entry will be dedicated to all things grilled pizza.  Look for it in the near future.

  1. May 9, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Oh man, I was looking for the side of pizza. But that’s ok! I too have become a little slightly obsessed with cooking shows. Mmmmm. Loved your post!

    • May 9, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Thanks. I need a 12-step program…and it sounds like I’ll have company. Come back soon for the entry on all things grilled pizza.

  2. May 9, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Welcome, fellow cooking show addict. There should be a place where we can all hang out! Oh, right – our food blogs! Hahahaha. Great recipe, Dennis!

    • May 9, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      Emeril gets the credit..I just execute and tweak to my liking. And yeah…we need a blog that focuses JUST on our addiction (although if we search hard enough we’d probably find one)

  3. May 9, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    OK, why is the sugar not optional? You don’t think the balsamic is sweet as it is? Just wondering.

    • May 9, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Personally, its my own taste buds (and friends seem to have raved when made with the sugar) On the original recipe, it states that if you use REALLY good balsamic, then you shouldn’t need sugar (which makes perfect sense). I use some decent stuff from Trader Joe’s and it can be a slight bit tart on its own. My recommendation, give it a try both ways.

  1. May 23, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Leave a Reply

