Home > Mom Inspired, Pasta > Pasta From Scratch

Pasta From Scratch

Homemade Pasta

Homemade Pasta

Since my mom (don’t be confused if I make reference to her as Lucille from time to time) is my food inspiration, I’ve decided that my first blog post would be dedicated to her.

Lucille was born in a small city outside of Naples, Italy.  She met my dad, who was serving in the US Navy while he was on shore leave back in the 60’s. Navy sailor in port meets a local lady, 9 months later my older brother was born.  Now, this doesn’t make my mom a bad person, hey shit happens, but it is the basis of my roots, so I thought it was worth mentioning.

I’d venture to guess that since she didn’t know English during her early days in the U.S., she shared her ideas through food,  building on her own knowledge of cooking and passing it on to family and neighbors.  She cooked a LOT.  Italian food, Polish Food, American classics and tons of baked goods.  Sans liver and onions, there was nothing she made that I wouldn’t eat.

Eventually she would turn her love of cooking in to a full time job and became the head cook for the local chapter of “Meals on Wheels” cooking for the elderly.   While I never bothered to ask, I imagine one of the first things she made when she took over the program was  something from her heritage.  Lucille died a year ago but I hope through this blog, her love of all things food will live on.

Ingredients:

2 Eggs (lightly beaten)
2 Cups All Purpose Flour
2 Teaspoons Kosher Salt
4 Tablespoons Tap Water
Make a well with 2 cups of flour and pour in 2 slightly beaten eggs,  4 tablespoons of water and 2 teaspoons of salt. Slowly incorporate the egg in to the flour with a fork. When is just about mixed, get your hands dirty to knead the dough.

Egg well

the kneaded egg/flour mixture will look something like this. Cut this in half to work with a smaller portion for easier rolling. Of course if you have a pasta roller, you don’t need my tips.

Doughball

Pasta Dough Ball

With a rolling pin (my mom didn’t have a pasta maker) roll the dough until it is pretty thin (thicker if you’re making noodles for chicken noodle soup).  The dough should look like this when its thin enough. To test if its thin enough, bring the dough to the end of your work surface. Blow as hard as you can under it…if the dough flutters, its thin enough.

Rolled Dough

Rolled dough to desired thickness

Dust lightly with flour and roll the dough in to a “jelly roll”

Jelly roll dough

Dough rolled in to a “jelly roll”

Using a sharp knife, cut the roll in to the thickness you want. This size is roughly larger than linguine but thinner than pappardelle

Cut Dough

Cut to desired thickness

Unroll your strips and let dry for an hour or two (a pasta drying rack is recommended but I don’t have one so this worked)

Pasta Drying

Pasta drying

Bring water to a rapid boil, salt water generously and boil for 2 to 3 minutes.  Drain. Add your favorite sauce (I’ll have a future blog post that dives in to meatballs and sauce) top with some cheese and serve.

Buon Appetito!

Buon Appetito!

  1. May 6, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Looks great, Dennis! You make it look so easy, too. I cant wait to try it out someday 🙂

    • dskrzycki
      May 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      Thanks! I now have a pasta maker, but thought it would best to share how to do it without one since not everyone has one or will invest the time in getting one. Now, if I could just conquer making funky shaped pasta I’ll be set.

  2. May 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    So glad you posted a recipe for pasta dough. I have a pasta makee that I want to try out and needed a good recipe. Love that your?Mom instilled a love of cooking in you as well. Cheers.

  3. May 6, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere! Can’t wait to read more posts and recipes!!! Would love to chat about why a blog (research for my PhD on blogging).

    • dskrzycki
      May 6, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Thanks Kristin. I’d be more than happy to discuss.

  4. May 7, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    Looks amazing. If I weren’t cutting down on starch I would be eating something similar asap. 🙂

  1. June 9, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

